Help!

Centres, Agencies, Contacts and Experiences
chippypaul

Help!

Post by chippypaul » Sun Jul 21, 2013 2:58 am

Hi Everyone,
Myself and my wife are in need of some help and advice because we are so confused!
I am a qualified Carpenter and my wife is an Office Manager and we are are planning/hoping to move to Kelowna or somewhere in the Okanagan Valley.
We've been doing so much research over the last couple of months that our poor little brains can't take it anymore!
The problem is you read so many different things that it leaves you not knowing if your coming or going.
Can someone please give us some advice as to the job situation for Carpenters and what they are getting paid.
We hear so many things in regards to working and living in Kelowna i.e. it's too expensive, the wages are low and the taxes are too high.
We are not too worried if that's the case because Kelowna and the rest of the Okanagan Valley looks fantastic and a great place to live, work and start a family.
I am planning to do a recce trip early next year to get a good lay of the land and to meet up with construction/carpentry companies to hopefully find some work.
We just want to know weather Kelowna/ Okanagan Valley is a realistic choice for us.

Many Thanks
Paul

Roo

Re: Help!

Post by Roo » Sun Jul 21, 2013 2:51 pm

:hi Paul and welcome to A-OK

I'm not in Kelowna but I've done a little searching for you and found this. http://www.workingincanada.gc.ca/report ... 1&source=3" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; It will be able to give you a bit of an idea of available carpentry jobs and expected wages in the area.